Select Your Style

Choose View Style

  • Full
  • Boxed

Choose Colour style

  • skyblue
  • green
  • blue
  • coral
  • cyan
  • eggplant
  • pink
  • slateblue
  • gold
  • red

Scandinavian Agreement

This agreement abolished all passport controls at the Nordic internal borders and obliged the Nordic countries to maintain passport controls at the external borders. Foreigners with a residence permit can stay in other Nordic countries for up to three months, except to look for a job or do business. On 26 July 2014, Norwegian police suspended the agreement for the first time due to a perceived terrorist threat. [14] The Agreement on the Return of Aliens[15] was signed in Stockholm on 14 July 1952. The Nordic Passport Union was created in three stages. In 1952, Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland agreed to abolish passports for travel between themselves and to relocate citizens of other countries who entered one of the four countries illegally from another country. On 1 July 1954 the agreement was extended to allow citizens to stay and work in one of the four countries without a residence or work permit. Iceland implemented the Agreement on 1 January 1966. [7] [8] Passport controls on third-country nationals at the borders between Member States were abolished by a treaty between Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland, signed on 12 July 1957 and entered into force on 1 May 1958. The contract was extended to Iceland on 24 September 1965 and to the Faroe Islands on 1 January 1966. Greenland and Svalbard remain outside the Passport Union. Denmark, Finland, Norway and Iceland together with Sweden form the Nordic countries. The Nordic countries have an agreement that states that Nordic citizens have the right to live in any Nordic country they choose.

You do not have to apply for a residence permit. If you want to live in Sweden, simply register with the Swedish tax authorities. This table refers to internal passport controls that are contrary to the intent of the Nordic Passport Union. They are legal under the Treaty, since it has been included in the Schengen agreements. In addition to these internal passport controls, Denmark has passport controls at its land border with Germany, and Sweden, Norway and Denmark have passport controls at airports and seaports for arrivals from the continent. The agreement provides that any foreigner, i.e. who is not a national of the Nordic countries and who has entered illegally from one of the Nordic countries directly from another Nordic country, should be readmitted by that country, unless that person has resided in that country for at least one year or obtained a residence or work permit. The agreement could be revoked in the event of war, exceptional international or national circumstances. Therefore, the main objective behind their trilateral agreement is not to adopt an independent path. Rather, it is a signifying their collective capacity and willingness to self-defense. Given the generally accepted observation that increasing resilience is in itself a credible form of deterrence, they hope that their demonstrated resistance will alter Russia`s strategic calculations, while convincing the US that its mobilization and/or deployment to northern Europe should not be rapid. However, contrary to what has become a new normal in European speeches on the current state of transatlantic relations, this agreement is less about the helsinki, Oslo and Stockholm concerns about Washington`s lack of confidence as a guarantor of security.

Although it is certain that the agreement focuses on the rapidly evolving security situation in the northern territories of each country and the wider European Arctic, information on the specifics of the agreement was scarce and intermediate. In December 1996, the two third countries, Norway and Iceland, signed an Association Agreement with the signatories of the Schengen Agreement in order to become part of the Schengen area. Although this agreement never entered into force, both countries became part of the Schengen area after similar agreements were concluded with the EU. [9] The Schengen Convention itself has not been signed by non-EU states. [10] The Nordic Council has been directed outwards, towards the Arctic, the Baltics, Europe and Canada. . . .

Categories : Senza categoria